To freelance or not to freelance?

I have been developing websites for about 8 years now, I’m pretty confident in my development skills. Something I do need help on though is my career path. Web development has always been kind of a side thing for me, my career for the past 5 years has been working as a teacher at a local college teaching network administration. However I no longer enjoy what I do. Something that I have always loved is Web Development.

Lately I have been thinking about doing two things.

1. Starting a web development firm (for big projects. paying a staff when I need them.)
  2. Starting to take freelancing more serious.

I have done about 3 projects as a freelance developer this year, sure its nothing to boast about but, I do have a day job.

With all that said. If you are currently freelancing I would love some input on the following.

Can one survive with just freelance work?
What is the best way to get clients? I have only done work through freelance.
Is it a good idea to work both as a freelancer and as a development firm, using either one for projects when needed?

I should also mention my skills. I have been working with: HTML, CSS, jQuery, JS, PHP, MySQL, LUA, C#, and Python. I have focused my skills on LAMP development though for the past 8 years.

Thank you for any info.

Hey there,
Welcome to the community. :smile:
Sounds like an exciting time in your life!

I freelance, although these days not as a web developer, but as a Community Manager, so while there may be some similarities, there are also differences.

What country are you in? Do you need a reliable income to support a family? Both of those things are a factor when considering freelancing. Also, have you considered taking a job with an existing company as a web dev, or do you have your heart set on freelancing for a particular reason?

Hello HAWK thanks for the hospitality.