Toggle hidden content

I’m looking for some javascript that’ll toggle hidden content.

As I’m not experienced in this, I want something which is cross-browser reliable - and I’m having trouble finding something suitable.

Jquery has been suggested as an option… and I found something which appeared to do the job, apart from not validating as it uses a span to include the toggled content - which is a problem as I need to included block level stuff to be hidden.

Also, it came as two buttons - show and hide - and I’d prefer a single button, or preferably a normal html link.

Assign id to item that you want to hide, then change its style.

With jQuery: $(‘#item’).toggle();

Without jQuery: var item = document.getElementById(‘item’); item.style.display = (item.style.display == ‘none’) ? ‘’ : ‘none’;

Thanks.
Can you please work that into some code I can cut/paste - I don’t have the knowledge to do it myself.

Change that block level stuff from something like

<div>Your stuff</div>

to

<div id="toggle-stuff" style="display: none;">Your stuff</div>

Then add a link like this:

<a href="javascript:void(0);" onclick="var item = document.getElementById('toggle-stuff'); item.style.display = (item.style.display == 'none') ? '' : 'none'; return false;">Toggle stuff</a>

Thanks.

So, if I wanted to use jQuery, would this be the correct code?

<a href="#" onclick="$('#toggle=stuff').toggle(); return false;">Toggle stuff</a>

I get confused with the quotes.

And, I swapped “javascript:void(0);” to “#” so’s to validate.

Does that affect anything?

Here is the content that you want to toggle:

<div id="stuff">
</div>

With the scripting, the best place to put your script (whether external or inline) is at the end of the body, just before the </body tag>

<html>
<head>
</head>
<body>
<script src="script.js"></script>
</body>
</html>