Total newbie needs some questions answered please!

I appologize in advance, but on a scale of 1-10 in IT literacy, i’m a 2
I want to build a website that can capture people’s various demographic data and automatically sort and store that data in a database. So for example the site will ask people to either enter or click/check-off boxes with name, address, age, gender, hobbies, etc. Once they enter this info, i will have it all sorted by these different parameters in my database. If later i need to find all women 18-25, i can simply “pull” it from the database.
I’d like to hire an in-house programmer for this project.
So my question (several in fact):
What is such a project called?
What qualifications do i need to look for in a programmer and what to post on a job offer (btw, is it a programmer or a web designer that i’ll be looking for?)
What is needed on my end? (my own server or regular hosting will do?)
Any additional info I havent considered?

You all seem to be an authority in such matters so I thank you in advance for your consideration and am eagerly awaiting your response.

I suppose a broad description of your project is a database driven information collection application.

You will need a website developer who is able to code in html (for the user interface - data input form etc), a server side programming language like php or asp etc to do all the data processing. The developer will also have to be able to build the database (most likely MySQL) to store and retrieve all the user data as required. The developer will also probably need to be able to code in Javascript (including using ajax) depending on your project requirements.

Regarding hosting, if you have your own web server then great, otherwise any reputable web hosting provider offering php and mysql services (which most do) should be ok for your application.