Trying to omit results that return no records

I’m building an application for my office that allows users to search a database of resources. I’ve been asked to design a “Wizard” style interface to avoid a long, cumbersome form. It basically works like this:

Step 1)
You pick your role (i.e. what do I do for a living). This is a set of radio buttons.

Step 2)
You choose the catagory(ies) that you’re interested in. This is a set of checkboxes.

Step 3)
You pick the subcatagory(ies) you’re interested in. This is a set of checkboxes.

Step 4)
You choose your level of proficiency. This is a set of radio buttons.

It works well, BUT, there are situations where you can arrive at the dreaded “no records returned” result. What I’d like to do is for each step, eliminate the choices in the next step that don’t have any records. Aside from querying each of the possibilities (and in step 3 there are around 30), I can’t think of a good way to do this.

Any ideas?

This problem is even more complex than you’re making it out to be since it could be possible that I select something in step 1 for which I will never get any result, but there is data in step 2, 3 and 4. However, whatever I select over there, I’ll always get “no results”.

So what you want to do is for each option in each step, look ahead all other steps until the end to see if the options could lead somewhere, which is indeed a hell of a job.

This is one of the cases I would actually consider adding redundant data to the database; on each item store whether it should be visible or not.

To get these values, start at level 4: if there are no children, set visible to 0, otherwise set visible to 1

Then goto step 3: if there are no children or all children have visible=0, set visible to 0, otherwise set visible to 1

Then do the same in step 1 and step 2 as you did in step 3.

When you show the options, only show the options that have visible = 1