Twitter & Job Search

I’m new to Twitter and I know that some people create different accounts for ‘business’ and ‘personal’. If I were to search for a new job, I’d want to shield recruiters from my ‘personal’ tweets on the off-chance they that become offended.

If I create a twitter account for ‘fun’ purposes, but change the ‘Name’ field to something besides my real name, is there any way for potential employers to associate particular tweets to me?

If you use a fictional name and don’t put any link into your “fun” twitter account, it’s difficult to trace your identity, it’s possible only through the IP, but I doubt that someone will take the trouble to check …

Why would you want to worry about offending recruiters? Recruiters are the most vile dishonest bunch of sleazebags that exist in our economy! Just try and find an honest recruiter. You won’t!

I think you’re pretty safe pinch.
Lots of us at SPHQ have separate accounts for personal and business tweeting. I think it’s fairly common practice. Just don’t get them mixed up. :wink:

I said recruiter but I really mean anyone who may be vetting me for a job (everyone does a web search these days and twitter accounts usually get ranked quite high).

I think you’re pretty safe pinch.
Lots of us at SPHQ have separate accounts for personal and business tweeting. I think it’s fairly common practice. Just don’t get them mixed up.

I’ll keep that in mind. Thanks for the info. :slight_smile:

Well technically you’re fine… but if your friends sometimes use your name in their tweets… and the employer Googles your name, it’s possible they’ll find you.

You are smart to think of this because employers do look at the net to check out employees or potential employees. But quite frankly, if you’re putting stuff out there that you don’t want an employer to see, you gotta ask your self “What the heck am I doing?” Why put ‘crap’ out there in the first place?