Two SSL certificates on one server (each with their own IP)

I’ve recently been assigned the wonderful task of implementing a second SSL certificate on our server. According to my research, the best way to accomplish this was by using IP-based virtual hosts, as opposed to name-based virtual hosts.

So essentially I have two domain names, each requiring their own certificate. To accomplish this, each domain name is resolved to an external IP by our DNS servers, and in turn, those IPs are resolved to specific internal IPs by our firewall (I’m no expert when it comes to that last part, but that’s how my network people explained it to me).

So:

Domain Name 1 - external IP of 205.xxx.xxx.10 - internal IP of 142.x.xx.10
Domain Name 2 - external IP of 205.xxx.xxx.11 - internal IP of 142.x.xx.11

Below are parts of the virtual servers I created in my Apache config file:

<VirtualHost 142.x.xx.10:443>

#   General setup for the virtual host
DocumentRoot "E:/web/inter-ssl/htdocs"
ServerName   theserver.ourdomain.com:443
ServerAdmin  first.last@ourdomain.com
ErrorLog     logs/inter-ssl-error.log
CustomLog    logs/inter-ssl-access.log common
SSLCertificateFile conf/ssl/domain1.crt
SSLCertificateKeyFile conf/ssl/domain1.key
SSLCACertificateFile conf/ssl/ssl_ca.crt
…

</VirtualHost> 
<VirtualHost 142.x.xx.11:443>

#   General setup for the virtual host
DocumentRoot "E:/web/inter-ssl/htdocs"
ServerName   theserver.ourdomain.com:443
ServerAdmin  first.last@ourdomain.com
ErrorLog     logs/inter-ssl-error.log
CustomLog    logs/inter-ssl-access.log common
SSLCertificateFile conf/ssl/domain2.crt
SSLCertificateKeyFile conf/ssl/domain2.key
SSLCACertificateFile conf/ssl/ssl_ca.crt
…

</VirtualHost>

If I use the browser to hit Domain 1, there are not problems whatsoever. However, if I do the same with Domain 2, I get the following warning:

You attempted to reach <Domain 2>, but instead you actually reached a server identifying itself as <Domain 1>.