Unbuffered Queries

This is a new area to me within PHP. I’m gearing up for a new role in which PHP will be at my disposal to automate some reporting on some very large DBs. I’ll be dumping some CSVs out in which the queries to run and fully export the file will most likely run 20+ minutes.

I’m a complete beginner when it comes to understanding how PHP handles output while its still running. I’m curious, when using mysql_unbuffered_query(), is the script going to timeout at the set time limit? If so what are my options? SHould I be jacking the PHP timeout up to 2 hours? I’ll also want to be able to retrieve task progress while it is running, what options might I have for this?

What might some error handling look like for this?

I don’t fully understand what you mean but by default PHP buffers output in chunks and sends them when the amount of buffered data exceeds a limit and then continues to buffer the next chunk and so on. If a chunk of data is sent and the browser is not responding (for example the stop button was pressed or the connection ended) the script is terminated (unless ignore_user_abort() is set). This may work differently if you have zlib compression enabled or some other form of output buffering. Therefore, if you want the script to run for a long time it’s best not to output anything at all until it finishes or start output buffering and then flush the buffer at the end of the script. For such a long running script I would write any output to a log file - this way I can monitor the progress independently from the script by reading the log. I would certainly not rely on the browser connection to be open for 20+ minutes.