Unemployment benefits for contractors (US)

I’ve been a contractor for 20-odd months and have been laid off. When I went to the local office of employment security, they told me that as a contractor I can’t really get any aid from them, as I didn’t put money into their system. They also can’t find any sources of the company I work with on the employment records (I don’t blame them- the company didn’t even buy a sign for themselves).

I was told that I can bring in my 1099 and self-employment tax forms, but would this provide any difference? What are some resources for contractors looking for unemployment insurance when they’re not working?

I can’t speak for the US, but in Canada you’re not covered by employment insurance unless you pay into the system, and until recently (last 9 months or so) you couldn’t pay in even if you wanted to.

As to your situation, you haven’t paid in recently so I doubt you would qualify. That’s life as a contractor, you make more money than an employee and you need to make sure that you bank some of it away for the dry times.

If you were self-employed and working for yourself, you’re going to be pretty much out of luck. Companies have to pay into the system for their employees to get the unemployment benefits (it’s usually an insurance or a charge back system, depending on the state), and at that point, if you were directly employed you would be eligible.

If you were working regular hours, and are considering yourself “laid off,” you sound like you were more of an employee. I’m not the most experienced on this, but I think that’s not allowed to a certain extent. I’m surprised they even gave you a 1099.

I’m not sure if anyone offers “unemployment insurance,” but I think tke has the right idea…bank some in case you cant find work.

Out of interest, how long was your contract for?

e39m5