University or Self-Taught?

I am currently looking to pursue a career in web design, and I have come to learn that there are thousands of websites/books/online tutorials that can help me to learn as much as possible about web design. I have been studying for the last 12 months but I have come to ask the question is it worth going to university to learn web design?

I have a few questions if some people with experience of university, or people that have self-taught, I understand web design is an ever growing field and designers need to be learning all of the time:

• Does a degree in Web Design make a possible candidate for a position more attractive or is it based on their portfolio?
  • Is there anyone that has been to university to study web design and found they could have learnt most modules using the vast amount of tutorials/books?
  • How many people on here work for themselves or work for a company?

Thanks in advance, I am trying to get a feel for the field of web design and which way I should go to become most successful

Everything I hear suggests that it’s your portfolio, projects you’ve worked on, initiative you’ve shown etc. that make the difference. Many in the web design world are self taught, and it doesn’t seem to matter. You can learn everything you need to know without a course. The main advantage of university course is that it teaches discipline and application. And, of course, you get to bounce off others, get useful feedback and criticism etc.

Hi,

Good question!

I studied modern languages at uni, then moved to Germany after graduating.
I currently work (part-time) as a freelance web designer and have never had much trouble getting work.
I don’t think a degree would have helped me overly much on the path I have taken. Clients tend to prefer a good portfolio that demonstrates a well-rounded skill-set.

Saying that, that’s just me. I’d be interested to hear what others think.