Use Classes / Structures / Arrays in PHP ? Please Advice

im trying to store University Seat number of students in 100+ colleges

• Format of Seat Number - [college code] [batch year] [department] [seat number]

example - if ‘ab’ is coleg code, ‘10’ batch, ‘cs’ or computer science dept and seat number is ‘001’
then Seat Number will be ab10cs001

• Please ignore the seat number ‘001’ and ‘10’ batch as i will not be storing dat …
  • Have 100+ colleges
  • Each coleg may have 4 departments , 5 or even 10-12 departments [if ur using array pls use dept[0], dept[1]… as i will be using this in a for loop…
  • There should be a variable [like flag] which will tell if a particular dept exists in the colleg or not …

pls suggest keepin in mind CPU rsources, memory …
im just a beginner in PHP … so any code wil be helpfull…

Thanks

Hey coolguy,

Could you provide some more details - do you already have the data in a DB and you want a data structure to use for output? Or are you starting from scratch and designing an app? What kind of operations will be done with the data?

hii bro… thanks a lot , really appreciate ur interest in solving my prob…
ill tell you about this part briefly…
and i dont have this in the database, the data is in a file but its not in a proper order… so have to manually insert the college code and dept in anyway we go…

for every coleg whose coleg code is available i want to generate usn [University Seat Number] for all students of all dept in dat coleg…
this usn will be used in my later code to perform some operations [like one of the operations is to search my db for usn]

Currently im thinking to insert the college code and all the dept of the coleg in database table but getting confused as the no of dept in colleg varies…

Thanks for the extra info… another question: you said that the data is in a file - do you want to put it into a database, or you’d be just as happy to read the data from the file, process it, and output the results?