Using GPL code (e.g. WordPress) on a client's server

Usual disclaimer: I am not a lawyer — any info below should be treated with caution

I’ve always found the GPL license extremely confusing and ambiguous. MIT, BSD and Apache I get: use it how you like, just don’t expect a warranty and leave the copyright message intact. LGPL, MPL, link to it but if you make any changes you must open source the changed library only.

GPL, however, “infects” all other code it links to once you distribute it, meaning the whole code must be released under GPL. GPL is “free” in the context of freedom not money.

I love the open source movement but can’t help thinking the GPL license doesn’t make the concept of distribution clear enough in the context of web development. I personally will not use any front-end GPL code as there is no precedent set (that I’m aware of) that says whether linking to a script from a HTML page and having it download into users’ browsers constitutes distribution.

Server-side is a different matter. If I work for Acme Corp and installed a modified version of WordPress on a company server it’s certain that no distribution has taken place as internal use is allowed.