Validation error

<p class=“title_box”><a href=“docs/2011.pdf”>Custom Packages</a><hr /></p>

I’m getting an error saying: end tag for element “p” which is not open.

I thought I was closing everything in this line correctly?

( <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC “-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01//EN” “http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/strict.dtd”> )

With an HTML 4.01 doctyoe it should be coded:

<p class=“title_box”><a href=“docs/2011.pdf”>Custom Packages</a><hr></p>

The /> for self closing tags are only used in XHTML.

Oh ok, I thought it was something with the doc type, I’m new to this kind of stuff.

Since I have a lot of self-closing tags in my website, perhaps I should switch to a different doc type?

Suggestions?

Probably like…

XHTML 1.0 Strict?

I want to stay up to date with current doctypes and HTML trends.

Bades, in my opinion it’s better to remove the self-closing tags and stick with HTML 4.01 Strict. Stephen, since the <hr> tag is a block element, shouldn’t it be outside the <p></p> element?

I decided that XMHTL 1.0 Strict would be best practice top use.

Can’t figure out this one though…

Document type does not allow element “hr” here; missing one of “object”, “ins”, “del”, “map”, “button” start-tag

…class=“title_box”><a href=“seminars.html”>Training & Seminars</a><hr /></p>

So what am I suppose to do if I want to place an hr here?

Ah you seemed to answered my last post then.

I’ll look into the differences of HTML4.01 and XHTML 1.0, and see which one is better or more widely accepted.

Try moving the <hr /> so that it’s outside of the </p>

Cool works!

Oops - I spotted the most obvious error in the code and didn’t think to check if it was the only one - or the one causing the error message.

Also it has been qute a while since I added a <hr> tag into a page since they are impossible to style consistently across the different browsers so I hadn’t needed to think about it being a block tag for quite a long time.