Verbal Contracts - legally binding?

Hi there, I’m a college student in NY (I’m sure some state’s laws are different) and my professor offered $15,000 for someone to create over a marketing campaign/business identity for his department during a class one week ago.

He said he wanted a website, domain, tag line, and marketing proposal and be compensated for $15,000. He also said he needed this by the next day.

With that said, my friend and I needed the money and didnt have classes the next day so we stayed up all night and worked on it (6pm-8am-14 hours straight).

When we went to present it to him the next day, he said he loved the work and it was better then he anticipated (it was pretty ingenius if I do say so myself haha) but when he brought up compensation he briefly dismissed his $15,000 offer saying that he was just trying to motivate his students to do this and he was thinking something in terms of not taking an exam or extra credit in the class. My partner and I just looked at each other but we didnt say anything at that meeting because we were not sure how to approach this issue.

A few things to note:

This was said in a class of around 40 people, so we will definitely have enough witnesses to say that he did in fact say $15,000.

Just before offering $15,000, he stated that the school received an endowment of over $1,000,000 for this project and that he was going to up the grand prize from $1,000 to $50,000 (it is a entrepreneurship contest) so $15,000 for a full business identity completed by the following day (started after normal business hours - 6pm) did not seem unreasonable because he also said he was under pressure from his superiors to get this thing going.

After class, we talked with him for 30-45 minutes discussing what exactly he wanted and when he wanted it by. He had ample time to clarify the compensation package, but he didnt.