Very Old Website Using Frames Needs New Look

Hi,

I have been running a website for a local softball league for over 10 years. I have basic HTML experience that I used to set up the website way back then. I’m sure my knowledge is very out-dated by now.

The website was designed using frames, with the left column being the Menu and the right column having the content. It’s very simple, but it gets the job done for the players in the league.

I heard that frames will be obsolete soon with HTML 5.

I was thinking I better change the look and get rid of frames soon.

I update the standings and scores every week during the season. All I do is use Excel to enter the data for the standings and scores and then convert that Excel sheet to HTML and upload it. It has always worked and its very quick.

So below is my outline of what I would like to try and design.

Could anyone give me some ideas where to go online and learn how to do this.

It seems that it’s very basic, but I haven’t been keeping up with web design improvements.

Below is all I need:

Logo at the Top

Menu with some drop downs right under the Logo going across Horizontally under the logo.
Home
Mens - drop down (Standings, Scores, Playoffs)
Womens drop down (Standings, Scores, Playoffs)
Rules
Contact
Forum

Then under the menu:
All the Content would be displayed using HTML files when you click on the menu item, for the Standings, Scores, Rules and Contact info etc.

Thanks

HTML 50 could come out tomorrow, but if you built the site a while ago, you will either have an old doctype, or no doctype, so it will have absolutely no effect on your site. It will still run perfectly okay. The doctype says which version of html to use to interpret your code.

You do want to move into the modern age however and try to move away from frames. Also using excel to generate your results page will mean that the html page is very large and is slow to upload and download.