Very similar domain, same title, same topic

I was about to publish a new blog/magazine-type site that I’ve been working on for some time now, but I just found a site, with the same title, the same topic, and a very similar domain name. e.g. if the sites were about JavaScript (random example), my domain name would be javascriptmag.com and the other would be javascriptmagazine.com.

I’m sure that I checked before registering, but I guess that I missed it somehow. The other site isn’t launched yet, but already has accounts in some social media on its homepage. Kickin’ myself a bit.

As I’ve nothing to lose other than a domain fee, I think that I should rethink it and come up with a different title and domain name, but I’m not experienced with this, so I need some advice. Should I try to find a keyword-plus-someotherword combo? A made-up word? Or some unrelated but possibly vaguely memorable/interesting phrase.

In-depth answers, or at least links to good in-depth articles that I may well have missed in my efforts to resolve this via Google, would have my very grateful thanks.

An interesting question. My own inclination would be to look for a different domain name, but not necessarily a different title, and definitely not a different topic (since presumably the topic is something you are interested in and would like to write a blog about).

But I’m not sure. It will be interesting to hear what others think.

Mike

Yes, the topic will, of course, be unaltered. But I think that the title should match, or near enough, the domain name, though. It will have a slogan in any case, so visitors will see what it’s about easily enough.

I’d opt for a different name. Those two domain names are too similar and will undoubtedly create confusion if both, your site and the other site have the same topic, and almost identical domain name.

Yeah, I agree. But what type of name (including those that I mentioned) should I aim to find, kohoutek? That’s what I’m finding most tricky.