WAMP, Apache, PHP & MySQL

Hi all,

Ok I hope I can explain this, as I am pretty confused myself.

I am reading the book ‘Build Your Own Database Driven Website Using PHP & MySQL’. I installed WAMP, then installed Apache, PHP & MySQL, seperately (like in the book). After using them for a little while I decided to unistall everything and just use WAMP. Since reinstalling WAMP (about 5 times) I still have acces denied to phpMyAdmin (attachment 1) and my localhost shows a page containing the words ‘It works!’ (attachment 2).

I’m hoping someone here can help me sort this out, as I said I’m a bit confused at what’s going on, and I’m fairly new to this.

Thanks.

Al.

Allan,

UNinstall everything - specifically your individual daemons AND WAMP. Restart your computer (to clear the services). Reinstall. I’m not a fan of “canned programs” but WAMP should then reinstall everything.

The problem you’ve displayed is that you don’t have a root password in MySQL so PHPMyAdmin can’t function. Be sure you enter a password (for MySQL when asked.

Regards,

DK

Thanks for the reply.

OK, this may sound like a bit of a silly question but how do I delete daemons?

I have uninstalled everything that I can, but I might have missed something. I reinstalled WAMP, and phpMyAdmin is working but I still have the ‘It works!’ page for my localhost.

It sounds like you are OK now.

The “It works” page is just there to show you that the apache server is up. You need to setup a virtual host to point to your site. I don’t know if WAMP comes with Webmin? But Webmin is really great for helping to administrate apache; however, I don’t want to confuse you, so if WAMP provides a way for you to change/add/delete new websites then you need to make the relevant changes there.