Want to install Linux in my laptop but which/what/how?

First of all I am sorry if this is not right forum to ask this but I hope someone could suggest me.

Till date I am all working Windows Platform though I completely work with Apache, PHP and MySQL. But now I want to work in Linux systems itself.

So I want to install Linux in my laptop. I am completely new in Linux. I want to learn working with it. I have heard Linux is free. Can I download it from internet for free? Can anyone suggest me what version/brand is to install and how? I had tried Ubuntu before. But I want a real version of Linux. Please suggest me.

Thank you in advance!

Raju

As you’re a windows user, I’d recommend Ubuntu. I used it for a couple of years until Windows 7 won me over.

You can download it for free via HTTP, FTP or (probably the best method) Torrent. Burn it to CD as an ISO image, then restart your computer with the CD in - setup will then start :slight_smile:

Don’t worry, it won’t write over windows. If memory serves, it allows you to create a partition inside the setup. I’d recommend a defrag before setup though, to maximise partition size!

Thanks Jake for quick response.

I am really a newbie for Linux stuffs and I am keen to learn it and want to all PHP developments from there itself.

Windows 7 will be there in another partition or as another OS in the same laptop. I had tried Ubuntu before (tried means I just installed it but didn’t use anything).

One question with you since you have already used it for couple of years, isn’t there any difference in look and feel, features, applications that are available in distributed Linux OS and Ubuntu? I can find all the things/features in Ubuntu? I just want to make sure I start download and install. What are real differences between Ubuntu like linux systems and Red Hat?

Off Topic:

As you’re a windows user, I’d recommend Ubuntu. I used it for a couple of years until Windows 7 won me over.