Web Design Advice For Complete Beginner

Hi,
I am new to SitePoint but I am loving what I see!

I have been in software development for about 30 years, Assembly language, C, C++, C#, SQL, but I have never ventured into any form of web design.
I want to create a fairly simple site but it must have the capability of being expanded at a later date to include a database. In the past I have looked at Dreamweaver and got totally confused! It seems to be massively over the top (not to mention the price) for anything I want to do. I also checked out Kompozer but didnā€™t get on with that either.
So now I have been looking for a WYSIWYG designer and although they can produce a beautiful site in a short space of time it appears they are a real nighmare to hand-code after creation (not even possible with some).
So I guess what I am looking for is some kind of editor which will allow me to move stuff around on the screen to get the layout right and which will generate reasonably good HTML which I can later hand-edit when required. I have got a Wordpress site up but canā€™t understand the purpose of the hundreds of files it has generated!
I am also faitry sure that I need to learn PHP to operate in conjunction with mySQL as these appear to be pretty standard. Iā€™ll be OK with the SQL side of things but PHP will be new to me.
I am approaching retirement and my brain doesnā€™t take kindly to learning new stuff, so Iā€™m looking for advice which will prevent me going in time-wasting directions.
I have Microsoft Expression Web v4 here (it was free) and Iā€™m happy to use that if that will fit the bill, just not tested it yet.

Sorry for the long post and hoping you can point me in the right direction.
Cheers

The first thing you should know is that html has nothing to do with layout in this day and age. html is purely for content. Layout and styling is handled by css (something else to learn).

Hi @SamA74,

Thanks, yes I understand that and it is something else to learn!