Web Developer With No Design Experience

First off, I’m a pure Developer (Backend + Frontend). I’ve had a few jobs and I’ve made a lot of websites but none of them really required me to have design skills. I would always work off a PSD of what something should look like or a rough draft and built upon from there. But now that I am out of a job I find myself needing a portfolio but I’m not sure where to start since I can’t really do a whole lot with photoshop or know what direction I want to take my portfolio. Should I fill it with useless / static information about me and tons of cool features? Should I make something simple that says “Here’s what I can do for you!” - I don’t know what’s too simple or too much. Anybody have a similar situation?

And before I get “Hire a designer!” - I feel that if I hire a designer it would still get nowhere because I still wouldn’t know where to start or what I want to do. I guess it comes down to I don’t really know what developers put on a portfolio or what is expected. Suggestions?

My feeling is that the first thing you should do is work out what you want or need to say on your site. That is, establish your content / message first. Then work out a logical way to present that information. From that, you get a clear idea of content layout. Then all you need to do is dress up the design a bit … but there may not be much required.

Web design needn’t involve Photoshop at all. You can design a site fully in the browser itself, and this is becoming more popular.