What is Responsive design in android?

I am an Android developer; couple of days before my senior asked me to learn responsive design. I gone through the android docs published on developer.android.com, but i am not getting very clear idea. What am I suppose to learn? What are all the topics I need to cover ? As well as where is the material available for creating responsive design ?

He’s referring to - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Responsive_web_design

Which is not device specific. So that’s probably why you haven’t had much luck finding it in the Android Docs.

As Peter said (or linked) responsive design is a web design term and refers to the techniques used to make a web page adapt to any size, look great (that doesn’t mean that it has to look exactly the same ;)) and be usable and functional in any device, no matter its size.

Now, I don’t know what kind of development you do for Android. Maybe you create web based apps that are used on Android or you program using Java

If you use a programming language, I would think that he means that your program adapts to the screen size of any Android phone or tablet and also to whether the device is in horizontal or vertical position.

That could mean resizing buttons and stuff but it may also mean moving stuff around so it adapts to the size or even, for very small screens, decide what’s really important and remove a few features from a screen because there’s not enough room.

So basically, you’ll have to investigate about UX and user’s behaviours as well as how to move things all around.

Anyway, if you don’t know exactly what you need to look for, do ask your senior because he’s likely to know where you can find information.

1 Like

Hi Molona, thanks for replying.