What is your favorite editor?

I am a software developer. I spend my days writing code. That means the most important tool I have is my code editor.
There seems to be a lot of strong, emotional, zeal over the choice of application to use for editing code (in the general development community (and particularly the world of Open Source software).

Recently, I have forced myself to improve my skills with Vi. There seems to be a cultural stigma that a developer’s capability with the Vi editor (and, perhaps ability to use Regular Expressions) is a direct indication of technical prowess. I would not [yet] list Vi as my favorite editor.

Disregarding the various IDEs, which include many features for debugging and source control, what is your Editor of Choice? If you are a writer (not necessarily a “code banger”) indicate your favorite text editor.

Be sure to defend your choice by explaining WHY or describing your favorite feature of the tool.

For which platform? vi is a UNIX command line standard, so are you particularly interested in UNIX based editors, or are you asking about Linux, Windows or Mac GUI editors, too?

I can’t say I have a favorite. Using Windows OS plain old notepad was fine for many years.

I’ve since switched to Notepad++ and use that for coding, using notepad only as a clipboard.

I like the way
it can do search/find/replace
it highlights different languages
it can be customized to some extent when need be.

It has features I never use, but then I used notepad for years without any available advanced features with no problems.

I tried VI along with other editors years ago and settled on Notepad++.