What Should I Invest My Time Learning?

I want to start building websites for businesses, but I’m new to building a website for someone else. I have only built websites in dreamweaver using templates i find online. Should I stick to learning code or use a CMS like Drupal or Joomla. I don’t know much about them but I heard you can even build a social network yourself with little knowledge?
Any direction on what I should pursue is greatly appreciated!

Personally, If i was you and wanted to get the most amount of work done, with having the smallest knowledge base I would stick to a CMS. It definitely allows you to get things done that even if you spent 2 years learning, you still wouldn’t understand (trust me i’ve been doing it for 4 and there things I still haven’t figured out about some CMS’s).

So for the first part of your question, yes I would spend your time learning the how-to’s of a specific cms, although don’t be afraid to try and pick up some basic languages such as HTML, JS, CSS, MySQL and PHP. Most public CMS’s are based off of a AMP model (standing for Apache, MySql, PHP) and if you want to manipulate certain features of your site, understanding those 5 languages will be your key. The most important of those languages (and the simplest) would be HTML and CSS, those are your true keys for manipulating the appearance of your site.

With all that in mind, my personal fav is Wordpress, great support, a big community to help you, and tons of open source themes and plugins.

Goodluck

Hey thank you I think that’s exactly what I am going to do. Ive been messing around with joomla all day it’s really confusing so far lol

I would recommend getting your hands dirty and building a website from scratch. Books can teach you but nothing beats the real thing.

Stick with templates to start - wordpress, joomla or drupal - and focus on customizing a couple to start off.

Backup often and prepare to make mistakes.