What Should I Learn to Become A Pro In Wordpress?

Hello,

I am a newbie in web development. Btw, what skills do I need to have in order to become a pro?
I am interested in wordpress. I have learned HTML and CSS basics. And I am going to learn Javascript, PHP, and MySQL.
And what is the order of the languages that I should learn? Javascript first or PHP first?

Thanks,
maurisrx

For Wordpress, I think the most important is CSS. A basic understanding of PHP is needed, and you already have basic HTML. Javascript knowledge is not essential as there are so many widgets available, and MySQL knowledge only for very advanced Wordpress stuff. Of course, you would need to know how Wordpress is structured.

Thanks for the reply. I want to become a wordpress theme and plugin developers. So I need to understand PHP, right?

Yes, a basic understanding for themes, and a deeper understanding for plugins.

You need to have strong XHTML/CSS knowledge first. Then you need to be a pro with PHP and MYSQL.

Wordpress has lot of features. And you need both XHTML/CSS and PHP/MYSQL to be a theme and plugin developer. And you need to play a lot with wordpress to get more knowledge and concept.

All the best

You have to just design a wordpress theme using various tutorial available online to guide us how to.

Thanks for the reply, same question in my mind :slight_smile:

Strong CSS and html knowledge is compulsory, not just basics, then you need a pretty good PHP&MySql understanding and of course javascript for developing more advanced plugins. It`s a bit time consuming learning all these, but you need to work to have good results.

[quote="KepaJo,post:7,topic:31193"]
Thanks for the reply, same question in my mind :)
[/quote]

Same here lol, never occouret to me just to look for youtube videoes for this, wich is very odd as I use that for tutorials on everything else.
Thank´s for the reminder

Best Regards 

Cool Cafe
<snip>