What skills should a Social Media Developer have?

I’m in the process of trying to expand my skill range. Currently, I’m a web developer. I’d like to add mobile developer and social media developer to my personal brand.

I would consider a socail media developer someone who knows how to develop facebook apps, some integration with twitter, and word press pluggins. Am I missing anything?

This is a great area to be in these days but changes quickly so education and keeping active in the community is essential to stay up to date.

I’d suggest starting with the Facebook SDKs [php, javascript, etc] then moving on to Twitter. LinkedIn has some interfaces worth knowing and Google Plus will have their own APIs sooner or later from the comments they’ve made. Blogging and forum systems are also good additions although less developed than the networks.

If you can learn these well and get your name out there, it’s a great field. Mobile is less clear cut as you have both the web version and the app side… Knowing the later is extremely valuable but a longer learning curve and grasping tweaks for mobile sites [i.e. jquery mobile] is a good start.

Build a few common apps, share some knowledge and you’ll find yourself in a field desperate for talent.

Ted, thanks for the advice!

As for mobile, I’m planning on starting off with general mobile web app development and then moving into the various mobile devices(Mainly iOS and Android). I’ll wait and see if Windows Mobile platform takes off before getting in to it.

I think a diverse background of marketing and advertising.

Most of us use it for things like this.

I think a Social Media Advocate/Guru would have a marketing background.

I’m trying to put myself in a spot where I know how to develop applications/sites/pluggins/ and etc.