What to learn html 4.01 or html 5

Hi I’m new to web design, and I would like to know what should I learn first.

There is a lot to learn and I am a bit confused :confused: about where to begin.

Should I start by learning html 4.01 or xhtml 1.0 or html5?

HTML4.01 without a doubt before you move onto XHTML. HTML5 is unfinished and still mainly non normative anyway. You need to be able to understand HTML 4.01 really before you can look at XHTML.

Definitely HTML 4 first.

We need to wait for IE8 to die out before XHTML will finally be usable.

HTML 5 is even further away as there will probably be lots of changes before it is finished - plus since it will just add a few things to HTML 4 you’ll need to know HTML 4 anyway in order to use HTML 5.

With html5 still in development and would be different when the final version is eventually released ,it would be wise to go with html 4.01

HTML 5 is just in testing and developing. Before xhtml 1.0, you must know HTML 4, So HTML 4 Definitely should be first.

I would almost say you could skip XHTML 1.0 completely… almost.

The difference between XHTML 1.0 and HTML 4.01 is almost non-existent. The only real difference (with the exception of a few elements like xmlns attribute) is that all elements in XHTML 1.0 must be closed, including single tag elements (meaning <br> becomes <br /> so it’s self-closing). If all of your HTML 4.01 is validating, it’d take you all of 10 minutes to learn XHTML 1.0. :wink:

Also, since HTML5 is largely HTML 4.01 with a few extra things (and a few deprecated things), learning HTML 4.01 will also give you 90% of HTML5.

So, learn HTML 4.01 first. Once you’ve mastered that, start learning the new HTML5 elements.

Short Answer
HTML 4.01 first and then HTML5.

Long Answer