What to put into a WordPress site for a music group

I want to create a website for a group of musicians and I’ve chosen WordPress because it will help them to make updates. The site will have a news/update homepage for performances, biography page, store page, archived photos or videos of past performances, static pages for additional information and a contact page with a contact form.

I am new to all of the widget and plug-in features used in WordPress and I would like to know what types of general widgets/plug-ins that you guys could recommend for a WordPress music site, especially for the home page because I always have the hardest time designing it. So far on my list I have ecommerce and photo gallery plug-ins.

Thanks

I would choose plugins and widgets according to functionality, I want to achieve on particular page, not because some of them are “must have”. My suggestion is to create sitemap, that will give an overview of what is supposed to be on website, then you can search for plugins that implement required functionality.

To be honest I’d say that it isn’t as complex as you might think.

If it were me I’d start with a theme that uses your ecommerce platform of choice. You need to know that the shop part of your website will do what you need it to do (shipping, tax, bundles etc) as it can be the most limiting factor. Depending on how much continuity you want in your website often the styling of the store is the more difficult (as it is treated as a separate plugin and may only pick up certain default styles).