What tools & programs do I need?

Hi all! I’m a beginner web designer. I’ve just gotten my first few clients and will make enough money to buy better programs and tools that I will need. Currently I use GIMP and have been using it for around 5-6 years, haha! It’s a good program but I need something more. I want to be able to create website icons and logos mostly. It’s very hard to do in GIMP and GIMP doesn’t save them as the right file type. I also still need to be able to do simple edits to photos (flipping, color enhancement, cropping, etc) and make complex photo manipulations. Eventually I also want to learn how to make and print brochures, flyers, business cards, etc.

What are some good programs, tools, etc that I need to be looking at right now? A list from most important to least would be great!
Currently what I’m using:

HP Laptop (not even mine. i’ve been borrowing it from a family member)
Small nightstand as desk
Not-so-comfy chair

GIMP 2.8 as graphics program
Notepad++ for HTML & CSS coding
Chrome, IE, and Firefox for browser testing

What filetype are you trying to use?

Chrome, IE, and Firefox for browser testing

Are you using the firebug and web developer tools addons?

I want to be able to save icons as scalable vectors so .svg or something and I don’t think GIMP does that.
Also no I have never used firebug or any such thing. I’ve heard of firebug but not quite sure what it is or how it works.

GIMP supports importing and exporting of SVG 1.1. You may have to use the export feature, rather than the “save as” feature.

Firebug is a tool you can use to see the final HTML, CSS, and DOM (and more) of a rendered website. This helps with troubleshooting and testing.

http://getfirebug.com/

Oh! Thanks so much. I’ll check into both. Thanks again!

Littlebird,