What's the best way to lay out this background/site?

Hi all,

So I’ve begun to dabble in the world of web design. I’ve got basic HTML and CSS knowledge and I’m working on chopping up my first PSD that a friend provided me with to convert to a site.

I’m trying to figure out the best way to layout the background and main images for my site.

My main image is 960px wide.

Below that is the orange nav bar.

Below that is an image with will fall behind the text, which then fades to solid black should the text go down that far.

I want the left to extend black and orange as in the image for large monitors, I want the right to extend black, orange and magnolia to the right.

I’m thinking to have a primarily black backround as a base. Then I thought I could have a vertical slice of orange on black that repeats to the left on the x axis and a vertical slice of magnolia and orange on the right that repeats to the right on the x axis. Is that possible and doable or would you recommend another approach?

Edit: Or is it better to have complete solid black, then a vertical magnolia strip on the right repeated on x axis. Then have the orange nav bar span the whole page and always center the links on top of the rest?

Sorry if this is completely nooby!

Right, we’ve been messing around and I think we’re nearly done.

Let me know what you think and if you have any suggestions, constructive criticism etc.

Many thanks for all your help too! :smiley:

Link

Hi WebTiger. Welcome to SitePoint. :slight_smile:

This is all very easy, except for the magnolia background top right. Do you really have to have that? It makes things look a bit lop-sided, to my eye, and is not so straightforward to do—meaning that even if it works on modern desktop browsers, you are likely to have problems in older browsers and other media.,

Thanks for the reply Ralph, here’s a pic of the final mockup.