What's your process for managing clients?

I’m new to the forums and relatively new to freelancing. From my experience so far, I’m finding the hardest part is managing leads / clients. Do you have a successful process for client management that you can share?

This has been my process (more or less) so far:

1. Make first contact with a lead
  2. Send portfolio of items that relate to the potential project (I’m a PHP developer, so I send links to websites and sample code if requested)
  3. Discuss project objective with lead via phone / email
  4. Send a proposal by email - usually hacked from a Word template that I’ve used for another client
  5. Follow up with the lead to answer questions / confirm their interest
  6. Send a PDF contract for them to sign and return
  7. Collect deposit if agreed upon
  8. Begin work on project - very little communication happens during the work phase
  9. If it’s an hourly project, jot hours down on a timesheet and send invoices (another Word template) periodically
  10. Send URL of work-in-progress to client for review
  11. Follow up with client, get signoff
  12. Install project on client’s server
  13. Send final bill and wait patiently for a check

These are the issues that I’m facing:

• I feel extremely disorganized. Each time I share a portfolio, I gather resources to send and it seems like I’m doing duplicate work. For proposals / contracts, editing Word documents seem kludgy at best. Communication with the client is spread across many emails (and phone calls that aren’t even tracked).

• Clients change their minds. It’s a problem with scope as well as flip-flopping on features. Then I need to dig up an old email to “prove” to them that they originally asked for “A”, not “B”.

• Need to drag clients through the process. I’m often waiting for feedback from a client that puts development on hold. And getting them to pay for work that is already done can be like pulling teeth.