When was the last time you used the web?

As web developers, so much of our industry is focused inwards. Every day I read articles about code, tools, and frameworks, but almost nothing about how users are actually interacting with the products we build. Or how they would like to interact with what we build for that matter.

This bothers me because as a web developer, I know that I am far removed from the experiences of those who use the web and are not web developers. Most of the time I only use the web to build for the web. In reality I rarely ever use the web for anything else, and that makes me feel very dissociated from those who I am supposed to be building for.

Is there something that we need to change? Does anyone else feel that the industry might be a little too self centered at times?

4 Likes

This kind of a loaded topic hereā€¦

I guess this is why companies try to create personas, to predict how people will use the web. Because even if you used it, and that would certainly help you to remember why you do things on a certain way, you have nothing to do with the old man that has never used it before, or with the teenager that just got his first computer.

You know what goes behind and you are a experienced web user.

1 Like

Well, and as web developers, when we do use the web, weā€™re also over-sensitive to certain things. When Iā€™m on a site via my mobile and itā€™s sort of responsive but they didnā€™t-quite-get-it-right Iā€™ll rant to my fiance and sheā€™ll laugh and be amused at the rhetoric, but is that a normal user response? Probably not. Theyā€™re probably more worried about why X isnā€™t on the page at all, or why they canā€™t find a menu.

Sidebar example: