Where to now?

Hi guys,

Ok so here’s where I’m at. I am a noob to this whole game. I have a basic understanding of (X)HTML and CSS (basically I have worked through Ian Lloyd’s sitepoint book-Build your own website the right way using HTML & CSS). Now I have made a couple of very basic websites on my own laptop but I can’t seem to give them that extra wow effect (for want of a better term!).

My question is this: Where do I go from here? More specifically how can I best further my skills? Would you suggest I work more at (X)HTML and CSS or perhaps something else to widen my skillset? A final note to add is that I am on an extremely tight budget (meaning little to no money :P) but I am time rich at the moment. All I really have is the internet and a personal laptop at my disposal.

Anyway any advice is much appreciated.

PS. I know this is a little long winded and perhaps I’m not making myself clear so if there is any further info needed I will be happy to expand on an already lengthy question. :slight_smile:

Alex, I agree with you there, but with the preponderance of “plug and play” jQuery, MooTools, and other ways to implement nifty JS effects by thumb-fingered dolts such as myself, to my mind, learning JS should only begin after one masters (to an extent) HTML and CSS. (I know you’re not saying anything different, I’m just being clear for other readers. Call me Captain Obvious.)

There’s some websites I regularly visit for inspiration, they have given me an endless source of ideas:

http://bestwebgallery.com/

http://onepagelove.com/

Looking at other peoples work (and code) teaches you more than you can imagine! :slight_smile:

PS: Before you learn PHP, it would pay for you to know JavaScript!

Jej, excellent advice!

I suggest you master HTML/CSS first.