Where to start on making a used car dealership website?

I have a client who is not tech savy. This client wants me to make a web page for selling used cars. They were once hosted by the company which created their car inventory software but they were not satisfied with the web page given to them particularly the costs to pay for their service <snip>. However, I’m not that experienced with SQL and PHP which I think would be necessary to create a database to store information about the cars (ex. Vehicle Identification Number, Name, Make, etc.). I’m thinking of using a CMS and getting a template which can be easily modified so I’m looking at Joomla and Wordpress (I want something that is compatitible with Dreamhost). Is this a good approach or should I think things through more?

Examples:

Using a CMS is definitely the way to go. If the client is willing to shell out a few $$$, check out ExpressionEngine, too. You have full and easy control over the templates, which makes it a dream to use.

ralph.m,
Thanks for the advice. What advantages does ExpressionEngine have over Wordpress or Joomla? The latter two seem to have more users so I figured they would have more support and plugins. I do like that Expression Engine doesn’t require previous knowledge of PHP to use it, but I’ll have to look at the cost and discuss it with my client. If you have any previous experience with those three, could you explain how your experiences with each were like? I have been reluctant to use CMS in the past because I’ve heard about how they can put out bloated code and being that I’m trying to also improve my web design skills and learn some development on the side I do not want to pick up any bad practices.