Which Responsive Layout?

Is there a particular responsive layout that is best?

This seems to be the last area which makes me hesitant to build a responsive page/site…

What does this question mean? Each page will require a unique approach.

There is not a one size fits all, in terms of how pages will be responsive.

Is this another one of your “read between the lines” questions?

I thought there were like 4-5 different approaches you could take to how your adapt your web page content as the viewport gets smaller?

(I’m still learning this part.)

As I recall, one simply collapses content onto itself - sort of like taking 3 building blocks wide and then stacking them vertically.

I’m not familiar with the other approaches yet. I think one is called “flexbox”?

Is the sarcasm extra, Ryan, or do I get it free for today?

Well, there are tons of ways depending on how you want to present your page on mobile. The normal way is to just stack the columns, perhaps turn the menu into a hamburger menu.

That’s overly simplistic though. If I saw a design, I could tell you my vision for it being mobile. It really will vary depending on what you want to do for mobile, and how the page is set up.

The very simplest form of layout would be a single column or block of content that would squeeze to any width.
Though you have already stated a preference for multi column layouts. Yes, you can squeeze the columns so far, until they get uncomfortable, then you will have to stack them. There is the option to hide secondary content in rollouts. We have already been through all this in another thread.

There are a number of methods for handling grid/column layouts:
There are Floats, an old method, not strictly a grid/column layout, but puts things on one side. Then when things get tight, media query, float: none; you can then make it width: 100%; or margin: 0 auto; to centre it.