Which should we create first: the content, the layout or both at the same time?

Hi

I’m a beginner with html, css and asp. I’ve tried to make a decent website before but it is never fully finished. I’m just experimenting with MS WebMatrix and a little ASP so I will get further this time.

Question: Which should we create first in order to create the best layout :

:smiley: the content?

:smiley: the layout?

:smiley: or a combinination of both at the same time? which would mean constant adjustments to the css.

Any advice or help is appreciated.

Kind Regards

Matt

It’s all about the content, baby! :smiley:

You should always develop with the content in mind. The prettiest, flashiest, sparkliest site in the world won’t matter if the content matter inside the site is useless.

Hi Dave
I thought you could be right. I asked the same question in another forum and they wrote :-
It’s always been layout first anywhere I’ve worked. Layout with dummy text and images, this is agreed with the client then content and functionality is added to this template

I see your point because, if you do the layout first, then the content then you could end up having to re-do all of you layout again thus duplicating your work!! including all of the fine adjustment to margins etc…

A book I read said do both the layout and content first.

Also if I wrote a MSWord document, I would write the content first, include paragraph, check the grammar and spelling then the content. So what your saying makes perfect sense to me.

cheers
Matt

Don’t get me wrong, a lot of shops typically do it layout first, then try to shoe horn the content in.

Guess I should explain my interpretation a little more clearly. You don’t have to have the content written 100% before you start the layout. This in itself could be counterproductive because if it takes too long to develop, the content can get too old and have to be changed anyway.