Why is it that every Node/Express Tutorial is different..?

I just started learning Node/Express coming from a Ruby on Rails background…

I’ve watched/read atleast 30+ tutorials in the past month, and almost every single one of them is different. Why? I’ve seen YOMEN Generator (so many files for a beginner, too confusing), putting routes and the whole backend into 1 folder… using completely different node modules, different JavaScript Syntax to create a server/routes/ect. Is there a correct way to build a node/express app? I’m just getting so frustrated because it seems like I can’t follow along without getting completely confused to which way a certain tutorial is being built…

Maybe i’m just venting, but it’s much needed lately… sorry…

Hi sangenyx, welcome to the forum.

Watching / reading 30+ tutorials is admirable.

But how many did you work through.

It should give you sense of how things can work and you will likely soon develop your own way of working.

Thanks for the welcome “Mittineague”! ^^;

Like i’m just so confused mostly for the back-end (server-side) (Node/Express).
Should I literally just put my models/controllers into 1 file? since, i’ve been reading SPA (Single Page Applications), I just don’t know how to organize my projects. I don’t really want to just scaffold (YOMEN), because there is way too many modules/code I don’t understand and that is even way more confusing than trying to create my own project.

That being said, is this forum for specific questions I can ask? Not like StackOverFlow where I can only ask 1 question per week and I get bashed if they’re slightly off-topic or opinionated…

Learning to program, self-taught, is so frustrating sometimes. But without money, it’s all I can do…

Thanks guys. Cheers.

IMHO scaffolding is better for RAD but might add to the learning curve unnecessarily if it’s something you end up not using. Don’t get me wrong, good to know, but you need to weigh cost in time vs. usefulness.