Why use $_POST['something'] ? while we can use $something?

I’m a beginner in php.
i noticed that a lot of codes (actually all of them)
use
$_POST[‘something’]
to get something form the $_POST array
while i simply use this method
$something
i know it’s minor stuff and doesn’t actually matters…
but it keeps confusing me whether i should use this or that… and some times (when I’m really confused) i use them both!!
so i just want to know the proper way of this… and why?

$_POST[‘something’] is the preferred way (same with using $_GET or $_REQUEST)
$something will only work if register_globals is enabled/turned on and on most environments, this is turned off because it is unsafe.

Register Globals is actually removed from PHP 5.4.0 so your method will no longer work on that version

If register_globals is turned off then $something will not work. But I dont use $_POST[‘something’] or $_GET[‘something’], because it requires a little bit more thinking whether you are posting it or requesting it and a bit more typing effort and hence a waste of time.

I simply write at the top of the php code the following:

foreach($_GET AS $key => $value) {
${$key} = $value;
}
foreach($_POST AS $key => $value) {
${$key} = $value;
}

That fixes the register_globals issue and then you can use $something without any issue, whether register_globals is turned on or off and on all PHP versions.

This doesn’t “fix” the issue - it brings back the register globals security problems once again. This is an awful idea and you should stop doing it at all costs.

It is a GOOD practice to explicitly call the $_POST[‘’] variables you wish to use as it means you maintain strict control over the data flowing into and out of your application. You are doing it wrong.

Nice one!
What if someone sends a request like yoursite.php?_SESSION=blah
What do you think will happen to your $_SESSION after you run you “fixing global variables” code?