Wordpress Index.php not loading : apache2 server

I’m a newbie here. I installed a wordpress in a server run by Apache2. But the wordpress doesn’t load index.php page. I can access deshboard and all other categories are displaying well. but the home url is not loading the index.php. Eventhough i try to added /index.php at the end of url, still it’s not working. It just display 404 error. When i look at the theme directory and wordpress directory there are (index.php) files.

so I googled for solution. some suggested to add [directoryindex index.php] in .htaccess file. I did that and that result in 500 internal server error.

Some post in google suggest to look at dir.conf and httpd.conf under Apache2. In my httpd.conf file, I have this line of code

SSLcertificateChainfile /etc/ssl/certs/secure_yosalasd_org.ca-bundle

In my dir.conf file, I have this lines of code

<IfModule mod_dir.c>
DirectoryIndex index.php index.html
</IfModule>

I would appreciate if anyone can figure out what is the problem here.

thank you so much in advance

regards

Khun

Khun,

Welcome to SitePoint.

DirectoryIndex index.php index.html default.asp whatever

… would be the correct code (and not cause any 500 errors).

What you did not show was your WP .htaccess code which has some minor problems which need to be addressed (but should have given you index.php, anyway), i.e., REMOVE <IfModule> wrappers and RewriteBase / and RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} index\.php as each causes a different problem. In the RewriteRule, I prefer .? to just ., too. There are explanations throughout WP threads but I’ll repeat them here on request.

Regards,

DK

sorry to highjack this post.

i ran in to a similar issue: after adding DirectoryIndex line, it gave me 500 server error.
anyone know how to fix it? Thanks.

# BEGIN WordPress
&lt;IfModule mod_rewrite.c&gt;
RewriteEngine On
RewriteBase /panelcreative/staging/
RewriteRule ^index\\.php$ - [L]
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f