Wordpress is driving me crazy!

You guys got me thru How to Build Your Website the Right Way, and my first web page. I loved the work as well as your assistance - many, many thanks for all of your kindnesses.

For better or worse (and right at this moment it seems for worse) I am involved in an internet marketing entrepeneur group who are all in love with Wordpress. So, after some months of answering questions about how come I was studying HTML and CSS, I took on Wordpress.

I am a perfectionist and an artist of sorts and I want to do my own theme and expand it to a site design - I get crap for that also. But it is really important to me to be able to do this ( Mt. Everest is safe from me tho - no inclination to take that mountain on).

I have downloaded a number of interesting themes, so I could learn how they did this or that. For the past week I have been looking and looking and darned, I cannot figure out how they do what they do.

When I open the php files and look at the code, there is hardly anything there (meaning very few lines of code). For some reason I am not finding the Wordpress Codex helpful. I already know the parts of a blog and how to use them in a theme, but I am not a programmer, alas, and the parts that aren’t written for first time blog user, are over my head. There are hundreds of questions in the forum every day and most of them are over my head as well - it took me 20 minutes of paging thru to find my question just 12 hours later. I know that Wordpress itself is an amazing idea, but I feel like I am falling thru the cracks.

I think I may need to be able to decipher some basic PHP, but I don’t really know where to start. I don’t need to be able to construct a whole site because Wordpress already does that, but I need to be able to go change around what I want.

Do I need some beginners guide to reading PHP, and is there one?

As usual, you have my undying gratitude for reading all of this and giving me your thoughts. Thanks.

Jeannie