Wordpress site fails speed test :-(

Hi from 18 degrees C York UK!

( http://i216.photobucket.com/albums/cc53/zymurgy_bucket/speed-download-slow_zps76dfcb41.jpg )

Above link illustrates my problem but here goes… I am trying to make my site download faster. Ive always noticed that since I switched over from a static site to a wordpress version the site always felt to me it took longer to download. No I know for sure its taking longer having ran it through a speed test via speed the bot.

Ive added a stack of plugins (all promising to speed things up) to speed up my site www.davidclick.com but nothing seams to improve its download times. I am a bit frustrated in that I paid for a developer ( A good guy I’m not complaining about his work) to convert my old static site to wordpress but now I’m plagued with slow down load times :frowning:

What can i do to speed it up? I’m not a wordpress developer but I do know how to ad plug ins and make changes etc.

Any insights welcome,
David

Have you tried deactivating your plugins and then trying the speed test. Then add one plugin at a time doing the speed tests as you go.

IF a plugin is the cause THEN that ugly head will rise.

However, it could also be on your hosting site or even how the WP site was installed.

Buddy

Wordpress adds a lot of extra CSS and JavaScript http requests with every plugin you add, and that all adds weight to each page. As suggested you could try disabling plugins though I’m curious as to why you’re using Wordpress for a simple portfolio site?

And a lot of database queries too. Though that affects resource use more than page load speed it’s something to consider.

I used to toss in every plugin that offered something “cool”. I’ve since learned (the had way) to only use plugins that I need.

Not sure if this is part of it but you have 48 errors when you run the main page in validator. (http://validator.w3.org/)