Wordpress, Zenon lite

I just started building a website and since I’m new to all this, I’m using wordpress. As a theme I chose Zenon lite, a theme with a slider and underneath it are 4 boxes. I would really like my homepage to be ‘scrollfree’, the problem now is that there’s still about 1 cm left to scroll down. Since the text I’m using in the blocks is really short, I would like to make the blocks smaller. Is there any way to make the blocks about 1-2 cm shorter? And where should I be looking to change it? Sorry if its all a bit abstract, but like I mentioned, I’m new to all of this.

Thanks!

Hi and welcome to SitePoint.

Are you using the default implementation as shown here: http://zenonlite.towfiqi.com/ ?

If so you can alter the height of the box by editing the file style.css.
On line 90 there is the declaration:

.midrow_blocks

.midrow_blocks{ width:970px; height:190px; padding: 0 15px; background:#fff; border:1px solid #ececec; float:left; margin-top:50px;  position:relative;}

You can change the height to whatever you need here.

Thank you so much for the quick reply! Have been looking for some time now, just couldn’t find it myself.

No problem, if you use Chrome then it has some built in developer tools that you can use.
If you right click on the element you want to look at and go to ‘Inspect Element’ it gives you a load of useful information that you can play about with.

Sorry to bother you again, but I’m having another problem. I finally were able, thanks to your help, to change the size of the blocks, but now I don’t know how to make the ‘extra’ room disappear. At the place where formerly the boxes were, is now some open space. This meaning there is stil room to scroll on the homepage. Perhaps you could help me again?

Thanks!

Have a look around the midrow_ definitions and see which ones alter the height.
Some of them have height:xxxpx defined which sets it to a specific height, others are reliant on the content to give them height.