Working with small Software firm to develop product - What to watch out for!

Heylo folks, just signed up. There’s a ton of useful info in these forums. Thank You to whoever came up with the idea :slight_smile:

I am a software Project Manager who started off as a programmer. Have now decided to give up the nine to five and go my own by developing a membership based eCommerce website (ok ok it’s a dating site… with a difference. Errm :smiley: ). I will be working with a small time software company that sources it’s work off ELance and has worked mainly on Wordpress blogs, small eCommerce sites etc etc.

I picked a few firms that are based close to my place of residence and am in talks with them. Got to pick one that I think will have the capability to deliver.

The way I’m thinking of getting the project delivered is to be the onsite project manager for my project with them, and “hire” their resources - hardware, software and people - to make up my project team. I will be a one-man-client for an outsourcing firm and plan to lead the project to completion by paying for their resources. Eventually should the website make enough money I plan to branch off and move the codebase in-house by having my own software team. If it fails, I drop the whole thing and don’t have to worry about making employees redundant, getting rid of hardware etc - back to the nine to five (hopefully that won’t happen!)