Www.w3schools.com - Good for a reference?

Hi,

I am new to Web Development, I am currently learning HTML,CSS and JavaScript. I find the reference at www.w3schools.com to be very good, it’s complete with examples and a try-it yourself plug-in on the website itself…

However, I came across this website www.w3fools.com, and now I am a bit worried about the authenticity and accurateness of the content at www.w3schools.com.

What should I do?

I would describe w3schools as “basically OK if you aren’t looking for anything complicated and don’t mind some details being wrong”. For simple syntax and checking what values you can use, it’s usually fine – but as you’ll have seen on w3fools, it does have a fair few mistakes in it.

Another great resource is http://reference.sitepoint.com/, which has HTML, CSS and JavaScript references. While I can’t promise it’s 100% accurate, if you do find any mistakes in it then let us know and we should be able to get them corrected!

w3schools has been criticised in the past over the accuracy of its JavaScript content, but I’m not sure if the site has been updated since then. As Stevie D points out, there are other good references out there. In addition to the SitePoint one, I’d recommend the Mozilla Developer Network (MDN) - I’ve found their JS section particularly useful.

WebPlatform is also emerging as a great resource for learning about these topics.