XHTML -vs- HTML5

I recently encountered an “experienced web designer” who advised my not to waiste time learning XHTML, but rather concentrate on HTML5. Please comment on this and if as a total novice to website building, is it best (or a good idea) to simultaneously learn the latest version of Dreamweaver along with XHTML (or HTML5 as advised)

The current standard is HTML 4.01. HTML5 isn’t a recommendation yet and I’d not start with that but with HTML 4.01.

Dreamweaver is a WYSIWYG (What You See is What You Get) editor. You don’t need it as it’s quite expensive, unless you already have it, of course. :slight_smile:

HTML 4.and XHTML 1.0 became the recommended standard in 1999.

While work was proceeding on XHTML 2.0 there are still browsers that don’t support XHTML at all and so a decision was made to drop XHTML and develop a new HTML instead. Based on progress to date HTML 5 might be a recommedned standard somewhere between 2020 and 2025.

I personally won’t bother with HTML5 until it becomes a recommended standard and if ie9 (or whatever version of ie is out when HTML5 becomes a recommended standard) as ie as a whole (all versions) still have a very sizable chunk of the browser market (about 60% according to Net Applications) then I will never bother with it.

Then that guy is a complete Muppet if they asked you to concentrate on a ‘non-normative’ markup language. :lol:

If you want; tell the “experienced web designer” that is a sure way to “waste your time” learning HTML5, when it isn’t finalised or fully supported by any mainstream browser. :wink:

If HTML5 ever gets finalised it will have to support XHTML anyway but typically like was mentioned you are best starting with HTML 4.01.

Yeah, those muppets at Google/YouTube using HTML5… Says someone named xhtmlcoder. :wink: