XML into MySQL using PHP

Not sure if this is the right place but how do you actually import xml data into a MySQL table? I am just getting started with XML and have tried to do this using DOM.

<?php

$conn = @mysql_connect("","", "") or die("Sorry, could not connect");

#load an xml document into the DOM
$dom = new DOMDocument;
$dom -> load( "books.xml" );
$title = $dom -> documentElement -> nodeName;

#print out the root element name
echo( "Root element name is: ");
echo( $dom -> documentElement -> nodeName );
echo( "<hr>" );

#print a list of all topics
echo( "Topics include: <ul>" );
$topics = $dom -> getElementsByTagName( "topic" );
$series = $dom -> getElementsByTagName( "series" );
foreach( $topics as $node)
{
echo( "<li>" . $node -> textContent . "</li>" );

#insert into the database
$sql = "INSERT INTO `books` (`id`, `book_topic`) VALUES (NULL, '$node')";
$perform_insert = mysql_query($sql) or die("<b>Data could not be entered</b>.\
<br />Query: " . $query . "<br />\
Error: (" . mysql_errno() . ") " . mysql_error());

}
echo( "</ul>" );

?>

[End of code]

An error states:

Catchable fatal error: Object of class DOMElement could not be converted to string

How do you convert the object to a string?

Maybe you want $node->textContent?

Tried that in my INSERT VALUE but didn’t work. Still says i needs to be a string

post what you tried.

Tried it as this:

<?php

$sql = "INSERT INTO `books` (`id`, `book_topic`) VALUES (NULL, '$node -> textcontent')";
$perform_insert = mysql_query($sql) or die("<b>Data could not be entered</b>.\
<br />Query: " . $query . "<br />\

?>
[End of code]

Not sure if this is what you meant.

I’m not confident this is the right way of getting the nodes, but this works. I’m much more comfortable with SimpleXML…sorry.

<?php
$oDOM = new DOMDocument();
$oDOM->loadXML(file_get_contents('books.xml')); #See: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms762271(VS.85).aspx
foreach ($oDOM->getElementsByTagName('book') as $oBookNode)
{