Xml

What is XML? How and where is it used in the websites?
I came across this: http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20090901235156AAZWUuN
This pretty much explains it but i am still confused. ‘That it is sister language to HTML. This is where you can define your own tags, and it is used to move data from one place to other’.
Could you show me some working examples in websites how it is implemented? What is the alternate language to XML? Does it work with javascript?
Thanks!

XML is not a languages for web sites, it is not for you if you have to ask what it is. Either way, its not for building web sites and it is not a sister language to HTML.

Did i say i was a noob :slight_smile: I am a student/learner, aspiring web-designer, here to ask questions and learn from people with experience.
Where is it used? Can it generate its own tags and attributes, or these are specified by the user? I saw it being referred with jquery, and javascript in some articles, so i was wondering if it was used for websites.

XML is known as Extensible Markup Language. It is a language that is both human-readable and machine-readable. This is a language which is a set of rules that is defined for encoding documents. This is defined in the XML 1.0 Spesification which was produced by the W3Cand many other spesifications related to it.

XML (Extensible Markup Language).It doesn’t permit the omission of any tags or the use of attribute minimization. However, it provides a shorthand notation for empty elements. A conforming XML document must be well formed, which, among other things, means that there must be an end tag for every start tag, and that nested tags must be closed in the right order.