Your opinion on platforms

Hi everyone. This is my first post and I’m really glad to have found this forum.

I am not a web developer but it is something that I am very interested in for some time now and for various reasons; mainly because I am quite dissapointed from the results that I paid alot for.

I would like to start focusing on learning a platform such as wordpress or joomla and I would appreciate your thoughts on which one would be the best choice. I basically want to start learning the best there is as far as potential.

Thnx.
J.

Hi jenganic. Welcome to the forums. :slight_smile:

Yes, learning a CMS is a good idea. But another important question is whether you are going to learn the more fundamental aspects of web design, such as HTML (the basic underlying code of a website) and CSS (the means of styling web pages). With something like WordPress, which has a lot of themes (that is, pre-designed templates) available, you can sort of get away without knowing these, but it’s better to know something about them.

There are lots of other CMSes out there that we could recommend, but it would help to know what your goals are, because it’s not worth recommended a lot of alternatives to WP if you aren’t going to get into coding to some extent.

Hi Ralph. Thank you for the response.

I agree on learning the basics first to get a general idea and then focusing on a CMS. My needs are alot in terms of possibilities. Specifically, the website(s) in mind will be dynamic, possibility for profile creation w/ photos and videos, upload mp3s, download, payments etc. I know that some (probably alot) coding will be needed and I might get help for.

I know that every CMS has limitations. Which one is best for customization and gives you more possibilities? Thnx again.

J.