Zend Framework vs Symfony vs Django

I have been developing PHP websites for the past 6 years. Recently I began laying the plans for a niche social networking site. I am also taking a Python class and so I decided to try out Django. I love the way Django is set up, but it is definitely a whole new beast from a standard PHP website thus it’s a little confusing at first (although I am learning it very quickly). I plan on either using Django, Zend, or Symfony for my website, but I have no idea how to decide which one to use. This site needs to be able to support a couple hundred thousand users. I know all the tests show Django being faster, but will there be any real world difference? If you have experience with either one of the frameworks, I would love to hear what you think about using it on such a large website?

How many users you have in your database is not relevant to your choice of language. That might guide your data design and choice of database system. What generates load on a front end web server is concurrent users – requests per second.

There probably won’t be any difference any way you go, though I don’t know much about the full stack for running Python web apps. The first bottleneck you run into running a web app on large data sets is always disk IO – once your database is too large to fit into memory – and that is orders of magnitude slower than the time it takes to execute your language code. I run several significant sites on Symfony that handle hundreds of requests per second.

Here are some performance comparisons among PHP frameworks:

http://symfony-reloaded.org/fast

Ignore the Symfony 2.0 parts because that isn’t production-ready yet, but Symfony 1.4 is in the tables too.

Some opcode caching system, like APC, would make results less different I believe, and make “speed” factor even more insignificant.

Those are results with APC.