Zend_Mail our your own mail helper - where to instantiante it over a MVC structure?

Hello all,

I’m wondering were should we instantiate our Zend_Mail object.
On our controller, our or model, if on our model, on our domain object, or on our mapper / dao (whatever you have to deal with your database) ?

Does it depend ?

If the email send database data, it will be on our model. If it is a simple contact form, it will be on our controller ?

Or, nothing like this, and you put it, like a service or something ?

Thanks in advance.

i’m no expert, but I would speculate that you would call the model to get the relevant db data, return that as an array and then initiate the email sending in the controller.

For example, if a “forgot password” email is sent:

// controller /user/forgotpassword
$email = $_POST['email'];    

// fetch from model     
$user_id = $this->findByEmail($email); 

// call the email class / method inside genNewPassword
$this->genNewPassword($user_id); 

This is obviously pretty incomplete and happy to hear any alternative approaches.

Are you composing your email on your controller ?
You say it’s inside genNewPassword, but it seems the instantiation itself occurs somewhere else…

And I believe we should make our effort to keep our methods up to one task, and there, you have at least two.

Generate a Password;
Send and Email;

If you need, later, to generate a password without sending an email, you have to either duplicate, or refactor.

If you need, later, to send an email only, you are repeating somehow.

I’m newbie myself so, I may be wrong.

I notice as well, that this sendMail will depend a LOT of to many factors.
Will we send a user-to-user email ?
Will we send a site-to-owner email ?
Will we call this functionality on several controllers or just one, or all ?

Guess there’s no one million dollar answer here…

I will try to look, however, to a service approach. Like:

MailService->sendActivation($user);
MailService->sendForgotPassword($user);