Checkboxes: Validation & Stickiness

Dumb question, but do I really have to do any validation for a form with only Checkboxes on it?

Also, do I need the concept of “stickiness”?

I’ve never worked with Checkboxes before, but it seems like they are binary - either you checked one or not - so what form validation would I need to do? (It’s not like a Textbox where you might display an error like “Comments can only be 1024 character long. Your response is 2000 character long!”)

As such, would I need a “Sticky Form” if the end user really can’t screw things up?

Hope that makes sense…

Thanks.

I could go in my dev tools and change what value is going to be sent server side. So yes.

Here is what I have as a demo…

<form id="changeInterests" action="" method="post">
        <label><input id="interest_01" name="interest[]" type="checkbox" value="Football"> Football</label><br/>
        <label><input id="interest_02" name="interest[]" type="checkbox" value="Basketball"> Basketball</label><br/>
        <label><input id="interest_03" name="interest[]" type="checkbox" value="Baseball"> Baseball</label><br/>

<!-- Submit Form -->
        <input type="submit" name="changeInterests" class="button" value="Change Interests"/>
        <input type="reset" name="changeInterests" class="button" id="reset" value="Cancel" />

</form>

The solution I am working towards would be database driven and dynamic using arrays.

So you are saying I need to go in and somehow check that every checkbox has a valid value?

What I am confused about is that I don’t see where you would be displaying data validation errors to the end user like a regular form.

On my normal forms, I will display an error message in red if you enter a wrong value in a Textbox, for instance.

This script I am working on is just going to be a page of maybe 100 hobbies, where the user chooses their Top-5 Favorite Hobbies.