Dealing/preventing burnout?

How do you guys deal with or prevent burnout? Or probably a better question, how do you moderate? I mean generally, this isn’t specific to coding.

Whenever I do something I go at it foaming at the mouth until I black out from exhaustion (several times literally). It’s almost as if I become single-minded, to the detriment of everything else (socializing mostly).

I’m pretty sure it’s not healthy behavior!

For me it’s hot and cold. I either do the crazed thing you’re discussing - there’s times on freelance or side projects that I’d find myself coding basically the entire night before realizing it - or I sit here at my desk, fighting to punch out tasks and complete items that need completed, and feeling very unproductive.

To be honest, I’m not good at it. I think that for me, organization helps the control a bit in either direction. Having a clear list of tasks/issues/etc helps with motivation (just do this one thing for now) and it also helps a bit with control (at least I’m not haphazardly coding pell-mell, I’ve got direction). I’m not sure that’s really a moderation technique though. I need to be motivated but only to an extent, and no particular way to change it.

Definitely interested to see if anyone else has any ideas :smiley:

1 Like

I code for about 10 - 20 minutes, then open a browser to SPF. Look around a bit, help where I can, maybe learn something new, then get back to it.

Also, I’m a smoker, so every hour and a half to two hours, I get up, walk away from my terminal, step outside, light up, enjoy the sun for a moment, then come back in and back to it.

Having some nice (ie, tasty, yet most likely unhealthy) restaurants nearby is nice, so that I can really unwind during lunch. :smile:

V/r,

:slight_smile:

1 Like

Smoking as a coding moderation tool - I actually see how that would work lol.

2 Likes